Hand-made trimming

January 27, 2011

Today I had a bit of time in uni so I thought I would trim my prototypes from Sadhna’s brief. I asked Douglas to help me doing it on the guillotine. But what is important is that he told me how to do that by hand! An old school way of trimming books, by using a plough and moving it back and forth on the book.

There is a blade (just in the shadow on the photo) that you sharpen beforehand and then you move this blade forward as you move the plough.

And it cuts the pages properly!

Leave a Reply

