Screenprinting yeah

November 5, 2011

I finally got to do more screenprinting, allowing me to continue my experiments (see here, here and there).

Basically , my idea is to make four-colours process prints (ie CMYK) so I spent yesterday practicing and exploring.

I started with one colour and paste (for the others I only used colours):

☝ the first print

☝ the screen (it is a bit confusing since the screen gives no clue of what the print will look like)

☝ even the back doesn’t help

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Then, I tried one with two layers:

☝ the first layer, about 50% transparent

☝ the two layers overlapped

☝ that’s what has been printed over the first layer

☝ and a close-up of the final print (I will post scans of each print in later on)

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I also wanted to try with two colours, but I think it was a waste of time, I should have tried directly with the process inks. Anyways the result:

☝ the first layer, lime green

☝ with the orange layer on top, not very convincing!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

So I started making a proper one, here is the first layer, cyan:

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

In the meantime I wanted to make a stencil out of one print, so I printed one on acetate:

And made a screen with it:

☝ close up of the image I will print next week!

One Response to “Screenprinting yeah”


  1. […] Oldies Select Month November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011 June 2011 May 2011 April 2011 March 2011 February 2011 January 2011 December 2010 November 2010 October 2010 « Screenprinting yeah […]


Leave a Reply

